• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision iray 640 lrf finder

tacotim

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
May 7, 2019
Churchville, Maryland
Thought I would share my experience with this iray so far. I’m fairly new to NV and thermal so I won’t give any broad generalizations about what it is or isn’t, just some impressions from using it a week or so. Originally I’d wanted something like an Axion xq38. But thought I’d give this a try before getting one of those. Basically I wanted a pocket size unit that I can take for a lot of different purposes instead of feeling like I am having a dedicated thermal outing with a bigger device.

iRay FH25R, 640/12 um/25 mm/ 1280 display with LRF, <50 mK. all chinese ingredients of course.

-FOV is awesome. I would guess the base mag is about 1.5x or so. The intended use was for scanning woods hills / mountains. Definitely allows a quick scan.
-What I would call the depth of focus on other optics seems good. Meaning I am not constantly playing with the objective focus.
-The objective focus ring and lens cap are made out of a rubber that collects dust and small particles.
-The rubber eyepiece is a little too deep for my eyes. I guess someone with a flatter face tested this design :) The solution is probably to trim the rubber down a little. Switching out the eyepiece with one of the other monocular models is another possibility.
-The LRF claimed range is 600m. I have not been able to test it much at distance. I am used to Geovid LRFs with instant numbers so it doesn’t compare with that.
-the size seems good to me but on the upper edge. any bigger and I’d have to start thinking about how big my jacket pockets are.