• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Is it me, or the rifle?

Scratchthejeepguy

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 27, 2013
WI
I'm not too entirely happy with my rifle. First off let me say that I'm new to the whole precision shooting thing. I've been shooting for over 25 years, but mostly pistol and shotgun. I recently decided to try precision shooting, so I did what I hear a lot of people do, and went out and bought a Remington SPS tactical in .308. I shimmed the stock and adjusted the trigger a little, added a TPS bedded steel base, and lapped TPS steel rings, with a Vortex 6-24X50 FFP on top, and got to shooting. I reload also, and did an OCW test and found my best loads using 168 SMK HPBT with 44.0 of Varget, and 175's with 42.5. I've been shooting at 100 yards on a bench with a pack up front, and a sandbag out back. I was averaging just under 1" at 100 yards with 5 shot groups. My average sized 5 shot group is around .930 or something. Some go as high as around 1.5 inches, and some in the .5 area.

I guess I was happy with those groups since I'm still new to this (to date I only have 245 rounds through the gun) plus it had the Hogue stock, and factory trigger, but then I went and got an XLR Carbon chassis hoping my groups would shrink... they haven't... at all. Don't get me wrong, I love this chassis. I have no plans to get rid of it. I love the look, the feel, everything, but I really thought my groups would shrink.

Is it just me? Did I not find the right load yet? Do I just need to shoot more? I have a data book and have been religious about it, even though I haven't quite realized it's full potential yet, which I'm sure I will someday... I call the shots mostly on target, but they end up all over the place!