• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Jeweler’s Scale...need advice

JL6.5

PrrrressssBANG
Minuteman
  • Sep 13, 2020
    SoCal Desert
    Hey all. First post here. I’m new to reloading and I’m putting together my reloading “toolbox”. I need help making a decision regarding powder measure.

I own a very accurate A&D
    HR-60 jewelers scale which I may use to load 6.5 Creedmoor for consistency at distance.

My question is should I:

1. Use this scale with a quality micrometer powder measure and pair it with a trickler or...

2. Buy an RCBS Chargemaster lite.

I would really appreciate the help/input guys. Thanks.

If consistency is your goal, the A&D/trickler will give more accurate readings but take more time. If you're willing to trade some accuracy for time, the CM Lite can create good ammo as well.

I had a CM lite. I now use a trickler and AND scale.

Reactions: JL6.5
    So do you solely use a trickler and a scale, or do you use some type of powder measure to do a mass dump and then trickle it up to a precise measurement?

I have a good scale too. I have done the following:
    • ChargeMaster then hand trickler
    • ChargeMaster then one of these Omega battery-powered tricklers
    • AutoTrickler, one of these in the V2 model
    • I also have an original Culver powder measure. Throw main charge with that then the Omega.
    • Throw main charge with Culver then let the AutoTrickler finish.