• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Kestrel 5700 Elite AB vs Leica Geovid Pro with AB

aranagabriel1

Private
Minuteman
Jul 2, 2023
Florida
Hi everyone, I have a serious question, for what ive read, the Leica Geovid Pro with AB has a very nice enviromental computer in it, so, putting the wind speed and direction aside for a moment, why would I need a Kestrel if the Leicas have the AB integrated and have all the enviros updated as soon as you range an animal? at the end, the wind at the shooting point vs the wind at the target might be completely different so i rather learn to read the mirage at distance than complicate things with too much tech on my whole hunting, am I right? *** Please correct me if I missed anything, I'm a total newbie in the LR hunting arena.

Now, I’m no expert in this area but I believe an argument for having a separate weather device apart from your binos is for getting it away from your body heat and from the sun.

Many people will have the binos in-hand/on chest and also in the sun which might mess with temp, humidity etc readings.

Having the Kestrel on your hip will have less an effect, and of course you can stash it in the shade easier as you’re not using it constantly like a bino.

One also can spin a Kestrel a bunch on its long, very well-attached leash (moulded-in) in order to “reset/clear” it. Sort of a way of isolating it from your body’s “very local weather” lol. Although I imagine if it’s very hot from the sun or your closed car that it would take a while to cool down (I just bought a lower grade Kestrel this winter…not a lot of experience).

I learned the spin tip from Frank or from replies to one of Frank’s posts.