• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Long action 7mm cartridge

wade2big

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Sep 16, 2017
TEXAS
What would be the top choices for a .284/7mm caliber cartridge to push 160-180gr class bullets in a long action standard bolt face action. Quality brass would need to be a available and fire forming is out. I’m not interested in a magnum anything.

This would be for targets and hunting so I would most likely use 162gr and 180gr eldm bullets as I have lots of experience using eldm bullets for both. I would probably end up getting a barrel for my Desert Tech so magazine length is not a concern at all. Lots of room in these things.

Looking at bolt faces too, that might be your best bet.

280 AI was what I had in mind so that may be the top choice. I just need to search brass options to make sure it’s a thing.

Reactions: HMRamateur
284 win or 280AI with standard bolt face. I would go 284 win due to brass availability
Brass for a 280ai looks to be available. I’ve never used Peterson before but I’ve read it is solid brass. Not sure if it’s Lapua good or not. I would buy at least 500 pieces to have on hand whichever way I went.

I’m going to look more into the differences between the two cartridges performance wise. I don’t think its very much.