• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

MVNO

Crews

Sergeant
Minuteman
  • May 11, 2017
    Hallsville, Tx
    After decades of expensing my cell phone bills and not caring about how much it costs, I am being forced to start paying my own damned cell phone bills.

There are a mind-numbing number of MVNOs out there, and I am not tech savvy enough to understand all the stuff about deprioritizing, data throttling, etc.

I’m happy with Verizon network for my location. Use 8GB or less every month. Anyone have any advice on the best MVNO to go with? I just don’t want to make this switch and have a phone that doesn’t work as well as it does now.

My wife is already telling me I’m a fool for trying to save some money.

If you like Verizon you might want to look at

I have been using MVNOs for 10 years at least. For the last 5 or so of those years I have been with Red Pocket GSMA which uses ATT towers. I think I pay $200 a year for 8gb a month, paid annually of course.

They have a verizon plan too, but with lower data than you may need

I don't care about being deprioritized for data, I don't watch videos on my phone. I use my phone for the basic stuff, voice/text/email/lookup something I need online basic navigation apps and ballistics apps

If you are a heavy phone user that is on the phone for constant entertainment and watching cat videos, MVNO might not be the best path for you, depends on your use and location. (Visible has a premium data plan that might address that)

IMO any MVNO that was tied to T Mobile was the worst, but I admittedly haven't tested any of those again since 5 years ago.