• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

My Old Man...

Inogame

Counter of Beans
Minuteman
Jun 2, 2010
NW Indiana
Being a relative newbie... who am I kidding... total newbie. I probably should save this for Oprah or something on lifetime.
But screw that, I've learned a lot on this forum and laughed and hurt with some of you guys.
Part of whats great about this forum is the folks who come here. More than just the knowledge, the salt of the Earth people here. Bunch of guys that I'd love to share a beer with, or the beverage of your choice.

I'm hurting a bit today, and felt like sharing, if you guys don't mind I wanted to do it here.

Six years ago I lost my father, friend and mentor. Here is my story:

On November 17th, 2005 my father had what we thought at the time was his second heart attack. Turns out it was closer to his fourth, but like most guys I know little pains here and there don’t mean anything… I was working in Toronto at the time and was already due to fly back to Chicago the next morning. My father had retired to South Carolina the prior fall, and he was taking care of my grandmother. Ironic because if she didn’t force him to go to the hospital that day it’s probable that all would end there… he wasn’t taking care of her anymore it would seem.

I landed at O’Hare and headed home, I had talked to Dad at this point and he was pretty upset about being back is in the hospital, anyone who knows my old man at all took this as a good sign… if he was mad he was feeling better. They were talking surgery, triple bypass, so I got stuff together, loaded up the truck and headed down to Columbia, SC. Had to drive due to the Thanksgiving holiday, but that was also good because getting the time off wasn’t that big of a deal.