• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Need barrel suggestions for LGI's group buy, and question on current rig

MrOneEyedBoh

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 23, 2011
Maryland, USA!
Im looking for some pointers on which barrel to go with. I shoot 175gr SMKs and the max I would shoot would be 1000ish. I dont think 175s can be pushed much further... Im new to shooting so learning on the way. Ive shot out to 1061yds using FGMM before. The reason I want a new barrel is to accommodate their request for a new barrel when they do theur Rem700 accur-izing. Im guessing the 11.25 twist is correct? Any and all help here is appreciated. I would also like to know which companies are worth going with as well. Im sure its like anything out there, similar with optics. Its all in what you prefer, but Im sure there are some goto guys out there, manufacture wise on barrels.

Also suggestions on which crown, they offer True 11* Tgt crown or Recessed 11* Hunter Crown

AND

Which profile to go with. I know thats preference too, they offer fluting and I may get it while its in there. So maybe the Varmint profiles would be great for this?

I currently have a Shillen barrel in Varmint profile.

On second though... What can be done to my current rifle to make it that much more accurate? It seems pretty good to me still. Maybe 1000 MAX rounds down the pipe. Any other types of truing that can be done? Its in an AICS and its been bedded as well.

M24 profile Bartlein 1:11 from Grizzly Industrial is what I put on mine. 24" Would be a good overall length.
Bugholes.com is also well respected. I got my wife's Krieger barrel from them.