Suppressors  New TBAC Ultra 9

eklarsen

Savage
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 16, 2017
275
245
Washington
I just received my stamp and suppressor, I went with the 30 cal and the CB mount as I wanted to be able to switch rifles with this unit. I shot it for the first time this weekend on my 30 Nosler and I wanted to just pass along what a great unit this is. I thought it was still going to be a little loud but it sounds like an air gun. You will not be disappointed if you go this route.
 

HTX_17

Lurker Extraordinaire
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2017
120
78
Couldn't agree more. I have an Ultra 9, just in 6.5 and it is stupid quiet as well as accurate. Just can't wait to get a few more!
 

NateVA

Basement Dweller
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 10, 2017
1,021
346
Looking forward to picking mine up in 6-8 months.
 

Hoser

Ninja
Full Member
Minuteman
Apr 12, 2005
1,567
624
110
East Africa
I have a 6.5 Ultra 9 that I have been shooting a lot. Lots of people ask me what can I am using because it is so quiet.

 

vinsonr

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Aug 11, 2011
549
0
45
Austin, TX
My 338 Ultra makes my 300 grain @ 2800 fps a pleasure to shoot. I intend to get another brake to put on my 300 WM and use the bigger can vs the 7" I use on it now.
 

lennyo3034

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Apr 18, 2010
2,880
760
36
Southern MD
This thread is making me regret going with the ultra 7.

I bought it for hunting though and haven't gotten it out of jail yet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: daylate

carnageasada

all the way live
Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
Jun 14, 2017
115
20
Albuquerque, NM
^^^ All this and more, folks also ask me what can I have (an Ultra 9 30cal) as even on the first cold shot, it's consistently quiet.
 

Blowby

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 23, 2013
375
130
BFE
30 cal CB 9 now and Ultra 7 on the way.
Here is a video of the CB9 (non Ultra) on my .308 @ 1,045 MV. Shooting position is 86 yards from target. Can't hear the friggin thing going off.
I guess the Ultra7 should be equal in sound reduction.

 

Jefe's Dope

Red Forman
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Dec 20, 2017
    12,491
    102,345
    39798550941_eb8d13b4ed_o.jpg
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Daniel.civi.308

    Killbox_Alpha

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Jul 1, 2010
    369
    14
    North of DFW airport
    Had a old 30BA and loved it, sold it and replaced it with a Ultra 9. I honestly feel I could hear the difference between the two. Everyone said to go with the Ultra 7 but I’m glad I went with the 9 to get the max suppression. Capital Armory in Austin ran a Black Friday sale so I went ahead and picked up a 223 Ultra 7. So here I sit waiting.
     

    j741

    Hide Member
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Sep 10, 2017
    1,300
    484
    Greater Seattle Area
    I bought the 6.5 Ultra 9 and really wish I had gone with the 30 cal Ultra 9 instead. At the time I thought I'd only have 6.5 CM rifles but I've added a 7MM mag and may get a 300NM down the road. Guess I'll have to get another TBAC can...
     

    Cheeseburger1976

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Aug 2, 2012
    948
    166
    45
    Zionsville PA
    I just ordered the Deadair Sandman L . The Ultra 9 in 6.5 was backordered for 60 days supposedly. After I ordered the Ultra became available. I will be ordering one soon. My question is there a difference in accuracy with the direct mount vs the CB mount ?
     

    dkhnt

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jun 10, 2005
    4
    2
    Northeast Texas
    The difference between the Ultra 7 and Ultra 9 is amazing. I'll likely sell my 6.5 Ultra 7 and buy another 6.5 Ultra 9. Anybody in the market for an Ultra 7 in 6.5? The price will be right!
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Dwebster

    dkhnt

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jun 10, 2005
    4
    2
    Northeast Texas
    I just ordered the Deadair Sandman L . The Ultra 9 in 6.5 was backordered for 60 days supposedly. After I ordered the Ultra became available. I will be ordering one soon. My question is there a difference in accuracy with the direct mount vs the CB mount ?
    No accuracy difference as much as I can tell. If you want an Ultra 7 DT in 6.5 I’ve got one that I am discounting.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Cheeseburger1976

    flatland1

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 7, 2005
    1,533
    829
    70
    Western Kansas
    Had a 30BA for my DTA SRS (6x47 & 284 Win bbls) - didn't even get the stamp for it before TBAC announced the 30CB9, but liked the looks of the CB brake/mount, so ordered one. About the time the stamp for the 30CB9 came, they announced the Ultra series, so I ordered an Ultra 7. When the stamp for it finally came, I liked it so much that the other two cans were becoming safe queens. So when they announced the re-core program, I sent the old original 30BA in to have it converted; I feel I've got the two best cans they make - an Ultra 7, and essentially an Ultra 9. Now the good old 30CB9 is the safe queen, and I'm waiting on the stamp for a 22TD...
     

    Subwrx300

    Major Hide Member
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 15, 2014
    1,387
    951
    Cedar Springs, MI
    Bought Ultra 9 in 6.5 Monday and finished paper yesterday through Silencer Shop. Very easy process through their network. Used the fingerprint kiosk and their app to get photos. Very cool...now it's hurry up and wait! Excited to post results in a few months.
     

    Jefe's Dope

    Red Forman
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Dec 20, 2017
    12,491
    102,345
    Used the fingerprint kiosk and their app to get photos. Very cool....

    Wait, what? And yes, it is very cool.

    Tell me more. This is the most PIA part of this whole circle jerk. Last time I got extra fingerprints from my sheriff just so I didn't have to go back again. But this, this sells suppressors to impulse buyers and makes it entirely a different process minus the wait.
     

    Subwrx300

    Major Hide Member
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 15, 2014
    1,387
    951
    Cedar Springs, MI
    Wait, what? And yes, it is very cool.

    Tell me more. This is the most PIA part of this whole circle jerk. Last time I got extra fingerprints from my sheriff just so I didn't have to go back again. But this, this sells suppressors to impulse buyers and makes it entirely a different process minus the wait.

    Silencer Shop has certain distributors that have installed a SS kiosk. When you buy a suppressor from their network (either over phone or in person), you can submit fingerprints through a touchscreen kiosk that guides you through the info needed for the form 4. It has you capture prints the same way you do at the police station or sheriff's Dept (electric pad with optical sensor scanning your prints). It prompts which finger(s) to scan and then Viola your done. You can also take the passport photos at the kiosk but I had already submitted using the app.

    As a perk, they (Silencer Shop) keep your prints, photo and info on file and if you ever want to purchase another suppressor from them, it's literally buy, confirm info, done. They need updated photos each year but they have an expiration date on each photo so they'll prompt you to get new photo automatically.

    Literally took 15 mins and most of that was me asking questions. Could have taken less than 5-6min buying, photos, fingerprints and all.

    If you want to find one, find a suppressor on SS site and then look at the vendor list. The vendors with the red SS logo AND the blueish fingerprint icon in the top right corner have the kiosk. It's a smart move on their part because it makes the process super fast and encourages people to repeat buy using SS because they make repeat buys so much faster.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: RuckSack

    Jefe's Dope

    Red Forman
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Dec 20, 2017
    12,491
    102,345
    The fingerprints satisfy the "fingerprint" per ATF? IOW, why do I have to go to my local sheriff to get fingerprinted? I thought it had to be LE doing/supervising the fingerprinting.
     

    Subwrx300

    Major Hide Member
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 15, 2014
    1,387
    951
    Cedar Springs, MI
    Well the only place most people get fingerprinted is at leo offices because, well, where else do you get fingerprinted? I don't think it states anywhere that fingerprints must be taken by leo but only that they must be submitted. Where was simply a forced choice because no one else was able to do it. Also it's not unsupervised: the dealer is right there beside you to verify your identity by ID card and you have to log into your account to start processing prints (along with photo).

    I know that several months ago, SS, Gemtech and Deadair (I think it was those three) worked with the ATF to create a new barcode system that improves form 4 transcription time. Basically, form 4 is sent to ATF and the barcode on the form is scanned that contains all the information listed on your application. So rather than having to retype all the data, ATF employees will simply scan all the fields to make sure they match. Apparently the old retype method caused high rates of error and increased time to process application.

    Now it takes a fraction of a second to scan an application into ATF to start process. It's possible they got approval for kiosk prints at the same time. It's actually very smart. But I suppose there is a chance something goes wrong with process but I can't say until something goes wrong. Will know more in coming months.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Jefe's Dope

    HansohnBrothers

    Silencer Dealer
    Commercial Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    I know that several months ago, SS, Gemtech and Deadair (I think it was those three) worked with the ATF to create a new barcode system that improves form 4 transcription time. Basically, form 4 is sent to ATF and the barcode on the form is scanned that contains all the information listed on your application. So rather than having to retype all the data, ATF employees will simply scan all the fields to make sure they match. Apparently the old retype method caused high rates of error and increased time to process application.
    Certainly great ideas from the companies involved, just a couple corrections though. The bar code only contains a small part of the form 4 information (sections 2a and 12 and parts from the RPQ). In our conversations with ATF, they have yet to implement the system on their side. We use the bar codes on all of our form 4s nevertheless.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Subwrx300

    Subwrx300

    Major Hide Member
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 15, 2014
    1,387
    951
    Cedar Springs, MI
    Certainly great ideas from the companies involved, just a couple corrections though. The bar code only contains a small part of the form 4 information (sections 2a and 12 and parts from the RPQ). In our conversations with ATF, they have yet to implement the system on their side. We use the bar codes on all of our form 4s nevertheless.
    Glad someone with primary knowledge stepped in!

    At least SOME basic use of technology to speed up some aspects of the process is happening on our side even if government is a bit slow to adapt. Love this site. Good people and good knowledge!

    Happy shooting!

    FC