• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to this, need help.

Weldstar68

Private
Minuteman
Jul 29, 2013
Bakersfield CA
I am new to long range shooting and need all the help I can get. Any and all advice and help will be greatly appreciated. So far I have purchased a savage LE 110 FCP .338 lapua mag and a nightforce NXS 8-32x56 zerostop .1mil MLR illuminated. I'm not looking for a bunch of negativity on what I bought as its what I have. First should I get a Ken Farrell 30moa or 40moa base and what height rings should I get in order to properly mount my scope? What would be the best bipod to put on this rifle? Now for the question that is sure to get me some s*#t talking, are there any books or videos that can help me to understand more about moa and how to setup my scope? Serious help and advice only please, I'm looking to the pros on here. Thanks, Clayton

I'm not a pro but I think you're in for a big surprise, dude. Most of the posters on here are not only extremely knowledgeable but also really friendly. Doubt you'll hear much smack being talked. Good luck.

There are some videos online that discuss "mils" and "moa". Take a look at Ryan's videos at this link:

Ryan Cleckner Shooting Videos - YouTube

Now, if you need to work on your prone position, I recommend the first DVD from Rifles Only. You have to be able to execute an accurate shot in order to make use of all the other long range knowledge.

Looks like over kill on the rifle department for someone just starting out, but hey, go for it.

I think ShtrRdy gave some pretty good information regarding the DVD from Rifle's Only, but I would go farther and recommend Disk ONE and Disk TWO. And like me, keep an eye out for Disk THREE.

JACOB BYNUM THAT'S A HINT.