• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision NV needed for pest control $600.00 budget

nervous

Private
Minuteman
I'm a tree farmer and I have pest problems. I always get a permit from the Game Wardens to take care of the pest problems, 24 hour a day permit. I would like to find a Night vision rifle scope that would fit to the 1913 rail that is on my 22 rifle. max distance 100 to 150 yards. I would welcome any advice or experiences on a sight of this type.

Nervous

Re: NV needed for pest control $600.00 budget

A gen 1 NV riflescope is right in that range, The ATN MK390 would be a good choice for 100 yards and in on most targets. Over 100 yards would be streching to the gen 2 area which would be a bump in price. I've used the mk390 out to 80+ yards and been fine at that distance on varmints with alright ambient light conditions. Might fit your bill well:

http://www.opticsplanet.net/atnarmkpalni.html

Trevor B.

Re: NV needed for pest control $600.00 budget

Check out the military surplus Ziess Orion 80 4x scopes. The seem to be selling in the $550 to $600 range. They are the current bargain in the NV scope dept. The are basically German surplus scopes. They take a STANAG mounting system, so you can get a rail adaptor from ARMS (#7 I believe) or UTG.

They are gen 1 scope and perform pretty nicely for the cost. They have several intensifier tubes (3 if I am correct) that are stacked on each other amplifiying the one in front of it. So you get pretty impressive gain, even for being just a gen 1 unit. Do not confuse gen 1 commercial units (which have a single intensifier tube) with a gen 1 military unit (usually 3 tubes).