• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Old Pulled .30 Cal. Military Tip Experience in .308 Win???

Virago

Private
Minuteman
Apr 18, 2021
Reading, PA
Getting ready to resume testing some loads for my DPMS G2-LR SASS .308 with a 16” barrel.

My main goal will be trying some of the “newer” powders (ie Varget, RL-15, etc.) behind 168, 180, and 190gr. SMK’s…..yep, though I’ve been reloading for 50+ years, I don’t have much experience with many of the powders I now see on the shelves!

Anyway, while reviewing my SMK inventory, I rediscovered a BUNCH of pulled pre-WW2 30-06 tips. As shown in the attached pic, there are two types of FMJBT’s; one with a cannelure (173 gr) and one without (175 gr), along with an AP tip of 162 gr. These are shown with a 168 SMK.

The old FMJBT’s both have a shallower BT taper as compared to the SMK, and the cannelure locations may not suit the OAL requirements of the .308 Win.

If memory serves me correctly, we used these FMJBT tips in place of SMK’s simply because of economics, and they shot well enough in our 308’s and 30-06’s during Over-the-Course military style matches. Similarly, the AP tips always seemed to perform adequately also. All the tips were pulled from DCM issued or purchased corrosive ammo.

All that said, has anyone done any load experimentation with these tips for the .308 Win.? Also found a bunch of 7.62x51 147gr. pulled tips, so I’d love to hear about anyone’s experience with these as well.

Lastly, I want any load used to perform well as fed from the magazine, not loaded individually, so any insights in this area would be appreciated also!

Thanks in advance! Mike

Attachments

• IMG_7159.jpeg
    IMG_7159.jpeg
    430.4 KB · Views: 85