• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

On the issue of retraining the unemployed

Red Ryder

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 2, 2004
Pittsburgh, PA
I have a Masters degree (which I paid for with my own money, no loans or grants) and I'm unemployed. The state of Pennsylvania, in its infinite wisdom, will pay for unemployed people to go to school to become pet groomers. Yes, the state will pay for "tuition" to go to the Pampered Pet School of Grooming. And yes, that's an actual school.

I, on the other hand, am SOL in my attempt to go back to school to take additional grad courses that would <span style="font-style: italic">at least</span> enhance my chances of re-employment. There are only two schools within Pitt at main campus that the state will pay for. Neither of which are in my field of study. No other nearby universities carry these courses.

Let's see, the state will pay to send someone to school to get a job that will allow them to earn enough that in...let's say one year, will force them to pay into taxes what I'd have to pay in 6 months. Yeah, now I can see why this country's so financially f'd.

With all the bad luck I've been having lately (losing my job in June was JUST the start), I've come to two realizations. First, if humans truly are reincarnated when they die, I must have been one really wicked motherfucker in my past life because I'm being punished for it now. Second, if my luck continues going as it is, I should probably stop reloading because one of these days something bad's going to happen.

Re: On the issue of retraining the unemployed

Man that was really depressing there are a lot worse off than you. so just put the gun in your mouth and pull the trigger...
grin.gif