Once fired brass and different chambers...

bglimpse

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Oct 1, 2007
339
4
Michigan
Quick question, I have some left over ammo from my old FN SPR. It's Federal brass, once fired, was not full length resized. This started out as new FGMM ammo, fired from my FN and then reloaded. I have since sold the FN and replaced it with a Rem 700. Any issues using this reloaded ammo in the new Rem 700?
 

MAGUA

BM
Full Member
Minuteman
Dec 26, 2007
210
15
SHITTY OF NEW YORK / PA
Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

That brass is trash now ...Send it to me and i will dispose of it properly.
grin.gif


Full length size,trim,etc and you should be fine.
 

bglimpse

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Oct 1, 2007
339
4
Michigan
Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MAGUA</div><div class="ubbcode-body">That brass is trash now ...Send it to me and i will dispose of it properly.
grin.gif


Full length size,trim,etc and you should be fine. </div></div>

Understood, if it were just brass but it's loaded ammo. I want to know if there is any reason not to use it in another rifle.
 

ChadTRG42

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 22, 2007
3,342
7
56
Dallas, Texas
www.dallasreloads.com
Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

1- does it chamber in the new rifle?
2- if it's a warm/hot load, does it show pressure in this rifle? You may not know til you shoot it.
If it was neck sized, it may not chamber in this rifle. That would be the first thing to find out.
 

MAGUA

BM
Full Member
Minuteman
Dec 26, 2007
210
15
SHITTY OF NEW YORK / PA
Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

If the ammo is neck sized chances are it will not chamber in anything other than the chamber it was sized for. Pull the heads and full length the brass.
 

Kells81

Slacker
Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Nov 15, 2006
    1,858
    51
    Granbury TX
    Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

    The last FN rifle I had I could put reloads from it into my Rem but my Rem reloads wouldnt chamber in the FN. It might fit, it might not the best way to test would be to pull the Firing pin out of the bolt on the remy and try to chamber a round or two or three.. Pull the firing pin though or wait till you get to the range and try it.
     

    asbestosglove

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Mar 27, 2009
    528
    3
    55
    Mount Airy, NC
    Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

    My Palma rifle won't chamber a round that has been fired in another rifle, even if it has been full length re-sized. That was an eye opener, the first time. AG
     

    MitchAlsup

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Feb 19, 2007
    1,654
    3
    Austin Texas
    Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

    To a very good first order, any brass not fired in the chanber its going to be fired in subsequencty, needs to be FL sized, or run through both a body die and a neck sizing die. To be sure, these cases should be test fit in the destined chamber before being loaded with primer, powder, and bullets.
     

    jr81452

    Professional Skeptic
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 5, 2007
    661
    184
    Saint petersburg, Florida
    Re: Once fired brass and different chambers...

    Brass that has been fired and not full length sized, can only be larger than factory spec. So if it fits in your remmy and was not a hot load, you should not have any problems shooting it in the remmy. Check to see if it chambers, and if it does, pay close attention to pressure signs when firing.