• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes Proper Scope Zero

lordt313

Private
Minuteman
May 27, 2007
Louisville. KY
Hello, I have jsut purchased my first scope and had it mounted to my 700P by a professional, this may seem a stupid question but is there a proper way to zero a scope or is it just purely shooting and adjusting the scope to align? Additionally, once the scope is zeroed is there a way on a Nightforce 5.5-22 to reset the turrets to zero? I realize this is a very basic question but I am pretty new to shooting with a scope.

Thanks,
Taylor

Re: Proper Scope Zero

Yes

If it was properly installed (square) you just shoot and adjust the scope to hit your intended point of aim.

After you zero it, just loosen the small allen head screws in the caps and then it will turn freely. Return the knobs to zero, fire to confirm and stretch her out

You had the scope mounted by a professional? Meaning you paid somebody to do it. Mistake one, but you're only on probation for that.
smile.gif

NEVER, I repeat NEVER let anybody else mount your scope unless you know beyond doubt that they are skilled, experienced, and responsible as if they had paid their own hard-earned money for that gear. Even then, I would NEVER let somebody mount a scope on my rifle if I could possibly do it, i.e. while I still have hands and eyesight!

If you're not comfortable mounting a scope to your rifle, then you should stand by and watch/help while an aforementioned qualified person takes the lead in this very simple -- but important -- task.