• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Finder & Binoculars

C130

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
  • May 28, 2023
    Magnolia, TX
    I’m new to long range shooting and wanting to buy a rangefinder. Also considering binoculars with a built in rangefinder. Is it better to have a separate rangefinder and binoculars or are the combined units just as good? Looking at either a Leica or Sig as far as rangefinders go unless there are better suggestions.

Reactions: simonp
    Depends on what your priorities are. Binos with LRF are faster, particularly with situations where target acquisition is difficult. For instance, a 4-target stage at an NRL Hunter match, if you're scanning with binos then have to switch to a monocular LRF to get each range, that will cost you a lot of time and odds that you get an incorrect range or lose the target when switching are pretty high over the course of 2 days.

Conversely, it's cheaper to separate them typically. You can also often get better ballistic solutions out of a dedicated LRF (easier to specify various parameters in the solver), but this isn't uniformly true; some binos (such as the Sig 10k's) are pretty dang dialed on the ballistic side.

What's your use case? How willing are you to spend an extra 20-30 seconds switching between two pieces of gear and managing both? You can certainly save money by going that route.

While I don’t do it yet, I’d like to eventually shoot some PRS matches. For now, just spotting and one of the ranges has targets at unknown distances that change monthly I think.