• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Recommendation for a modern SPR Scope?

Alpha_fox

Private
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2022
Ohio
Hi all,

I am new to longer range shooting but got into it over the pandemic with one of my friends from back home. I am looking to upgrade the glass on an American Defense Manufacturing SPR that I have been shooting (I was running an old Vortex Diamondback 4-16) but I am starting to get lost in weeds as I look at scopes. I've looked at the big American Brands (Vortex Razor LHT, Leupold Vx6HD, Trijicon Tenmile) and have started to look at some of the German options as well but I don't know much beyond the big brand names so I figured I would ask for some expert opinions on what the best option is for $1300 (or below preferably) with lower end magnification between 2x-3x and an upper range between 12x-18x. I appreciate any insight or recommendations for a newer distance shooter.

Last edited:
How big a concern is weight? The burris xtr3 is probably the best deal in the 1k range. I have a vortex lht 3-15 and it's a nice scope for what it is but the xtr is superior in every way except weight.

How big a concern is weight? The burris xtr3 is probably the best deal in the 1k range. I have a vortex lht 3-15 and it's a nice scope for what it is but the xtr is superior in every way except weight.
Ideally the lighter the better. I use a VX6HD 1-6 on my 13.7 custom AR-15 and that's just over 16oz so that is what I am "used" to. Obviously, this will be considerably heavier than that so I would put it maybe fourth in importance behind factors like glass quality, reliability, and magnification range.