• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

shooting problems that opperator error

Alcatraz

Private
Minuteman
Apr 30, 2013
Every time I am about to take a shot about 100meters or more I always get excited and jerk the trigger, my friend who was a sniper in the military told me to relax and slowly squeeze the trigger. I try that but I still jerk the trigger thus causing the

bullet to go down left or down right. My friend told me that my mind was getting excited and was jerking the trigger. Well one day I was at the range dry firing before I started shooting and noticed I WAS NOT jerking the trigger, does anyone have

any thoughts or ways to get rid of this excitement?

Hmmmm, Excited or scared? Are you flinching due to recoil or due to noise level. Flinching is not just because your a little baby your body naturally does not want to be hit or have a loud noise close by. I think in my opinion you may be experiencing more flinching than getting over "excited"

I would hazzard a guess that it is not so much excitement as it is a startle response. If so, ball and dummy drills with a patient shooting partner can pay big dividends...

I do flinch when other people shoot their rifles so it could be that its startling me and im anticipating the recoil, anyone know how to break that habit?

You need to dry fire a thousand times to develop muscle memory. Then let your friend load your rifle with a couple dummy rounds mixed in with live rounds to test you.

Today my oldest kid (9yo girl) was shooting my AR and I mixed in 2 dummy rounds without her knowing it. Both times the rifle went click and she didn't flinch. So if a 50 pound girl can do it, so can you.