• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressed 22 LR for 13 Month Old Daughter

treillw

Private
Minuteman
Mar 3, 2017
My daughter is only 13 months old and I've been talking about getting her first gun for about 21 months. Seeing the Christensen Ranger repiqued my interest last night. With the rising prices of everything, specifically firearms, it might not be a bad idea to get one for her now and just store it away - it will probably cost double by the time she's able to use it.

The Christensen Ranger was pretty cool. I like how lightweight it was and it would be good training for running a bolt gun as she gets older. Would be fun to play with at longer ranges. Any suggestions on other cool options? Can you build something similar at a reasonable price point?

Just starting to look at this and have a few questions. I know some guys use them for long range training - got to read up on it more.
  • What accuracy can you expect from them?
    • How does this change with cheap ammo vs match?
    • Cost of match ammo?
  • What is "long range" for a 22?
  • Good, relatively inexpensive scope with tactical turrets to put on it?
  • Good 22 suppressor for it?
    • The TBAC one is interesting
    • I've been thinking of getting one for a little while - don't care about cost as much as quality for this. What are the best ones?
    • Lightweight is probably pretty important
    • How quiet is a suppressed 22?
      • Do you still need to wear ear pro?
        • I have cans for 5.56, 300 win, and 6.5 and still wear ear pro, even if it's "not required"
  • Any downfall to going with the shortest legal barrel? Don't want it too long for her with a can.