Rifle Scopes Vortex Razor HD problem

Bluegrass Tactical

Sergeant
Commercial Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
Jun 24, 2011
611
9
39
KY
I have a Stiller Tac 338, 40 MOA base, in an AICS that I just put a Razor HD on. I'm bore sighting it and have run out of down vertical adjustment. The turret is not bottomed out, but will only go down to line 5, zero stops are out. Anybody had this happen and have a fix for it without sending it back to the factory?
 

supersniper

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 5, 2010
27
0
56
Facist state of NY
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

What range are you trying to use for zero?

You have a 40MOA base on the rifle. That is why you won't be able to zero at a closer range. You can use either hold under or zero for a longer distance that is within the scopes range of adjustment.
 

Goin'Hot

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Nov 14, 2008
2,254
38
Central, Ohio
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: supersniper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You have a 40MOA base on the rifle. That is why you won't be able to zero at a closer range. </div></div>

The scope has 36 mils of adjustment in it. He should be able to run a 60moa base and still run a 100 yard zero.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gnochi and Alabusa

Bluegrass Tactical

Sergeant
Commercial Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
Jun 24, 2011
611
9
39
KY
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

600 yard zero. I know with that many moa a close zero is not possible. I'm thinking that the elevation on my scope is broken, since it won't go through the full range of adjustment.
 

JByrd

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Apr 27, 2010
1,438
5
41
north ga,usa,
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

im still thinking 40 moa is prob. i may be wrong. i guess my logic is bottomed out is around "level" and the 36 is just added elevation capacity. with an optic that has 36 mils elev. dont see needing 40 moa. surgeon1086 has 30 and it only takes me 6.8 to get to 966 36mils takes me to 2300 yds. i dont think me or you are going to be shooting to that distance accurately with our chamberings
 

KYS

BBN #1
Full Member
Minuteman
Oct 8, 2008
9,808
30
Lexington, KY
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

If your bottoming out and and your on line 5 you still have plenty to lower the scope. Following the directions that came with the scope, defeat your zero stop by undoing the scopes turret and making the adjustment to unlock it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LG65CM

Bluegrass Tactical

Sergeant
Commercial Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
Jun 24, 2011
611
9
39
KY
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

Thanks KYS338, I feel like a complete idiot. I didn't read the directions correctly, didn't realize there was another set of screws to unlock. That should make my life a lot easier.
 

mouse07410

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 5, 2010
1,266
1
MA, USA
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

For what it's worth, I have Razor HD on DTA SRS 338LM with 40MOA base zeroed at 96m ('cause that's the distance the most convenient range has).
 

JByrd

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Apr 27, 2010
1,438
5
41
north ga,usa,
Re: Vortex Razor HD problem

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KYS338</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If your bottoming out and and your on line 5 you still have plenty to lower the scope. Following the directions that came with the scope, defeat your zero stop by undoing the scopes turret and making the adjustment to unlock it. </div></div>

quick read, missed the line 5 part
 

Dale Jones

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
May 22, 2014
2
0
P12 of manual(downloadable) steps for bore sighting are there (I just did this w my new razor)