• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Waterbury Buckle Discontinued Hooks for the M1907 Sling/Our New Dies Are Finished

Gunny5821

Gunnery Sergeant
Minuteman
Well it happened again, called ITW Waterbury Buckle back in early February to place an order for M1907 Sling Hooks/Frogs, and discovered they had split and reorganized, discontinuing the hardware I had been buying for over 20 years. Not only did they discontinue the part, they scrapped the dies. Back in 1992, Waterbury bought out Brookside Manufacturing Corp. who was a military hardware contractor, and my first supplier for the hooks. Prior to the buyout, I along with another company contracted Brookside to make new dies since there original WWII dies were worn out.

Sad thing is, ITW Waterbury Buckle was one of the only manufacturers left that were producing the majority of older metal hardware for slings, such as the M1923 Sling and the M1 series of web slings. This includes the cam buckle, spring clip w/"D" ring for the rear swivel, and "N" buckle. Hope there is another manufacturer who produces these because it will hurt the web market, and I would hate to find out how much new dies for these parts would cost. I was told they had made changes and were geared more to the Clash hooks for the newer web slings. They scrapped a lot of dies and tooling, and moved Waterbury Buckle from Waterbury, CT to Broadview, IL. ITW Plastiglide is now located in their old plant in Waterbury, CT.