• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing 1. HOW-TO: Ultimate AR Bolt Slick up

Hellbender

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 23, 2008
Lebanon, Missouri
Part 1 of ??:

I'm working up/building my "Ultimate Long Range AR" over the next few days and am going to document some of the work I'm doing to it. I'll soon post in the "SH Semi-Auto Rifles" section the specs (and goals) of the gun and some completed pics.

I've messed with AR's for over 30 years, I was an USAR Ordnance officer for 8 years (1981-1988) (schooled heavily in the system, and got to work on a few over the years) and have been an avid hobbyist gunsmith and competitor since the early 80's. Also had a gun shop for several years and have worked on hundreds of these rifles. I have a pretty complete shop with about any machine tool I need, but most of these mods can be done with hand tools, a hand drill and a Dremel.

Some of these mods may be controversial and many will say they are not necessary, and that may be true, but they really make a nice gun that will work and feel so slick you won't believe it. I also believe anything you do to make the rifle return to battery more consistently can only help the accuracy and reliability. Anyway..........

Bolt Slick up......

These mods will reduce or eliminate the "brass shaving" problem many rifles exhibit, it will also increase reliability in several ways and make the return to battery very consistent. These pics are of a DPMS LR bolt, but all these things will be the same for AR-15's also.

Remember, on all these mods, you are only polishing and slightly (a couple of thousandths) rounding the corners off, you ARE NOT removing a lot of metal.

Get the following tools:

A pack of black emory paper in mixed grits of 220-400