• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

22-284 project, loading data

bohem

PVA's HMFIC
Commercial Supporter
Minuteman
Jan 6, 2009
Southeast, PA
www.patriotvalleyarms.com
My dad and I were kicking around some ideas for a very hot wildcat and he ran across a reamer on ebay for a 22-284. I picked it up on the chance that it's a viable project and we were looking at some forums that had loading info on it.

The experience that seemed to be out there was gleaned during the late 70's and early 80's and it had a nasty reputation for destroying barrels. We were wondering if by using some of the slow magnum powders that are out there like Retumbo (just a thought, I have no experience with it) if we could get some really good velocities out of the thing without the really hot temps that are a big contributor to throat erosion.

I'm sure there's someone on here that has experience with this caliber, I'm open to hearing about it.

Re: 22-284 project, loading data

laugh.gif

I've got a 22-243AI. It's a bit slower than the 22-284. I run 90gr bergers over RL22 at 3500. It won't live very long but it sure does cheat the wind. Mike Bryant smithed it. He's got a reamer for the standard 22-243. I suggest talking with him if you're interested in a hot 22.

I have a 22-284 and it is alot of fun. I use RL-22 and push 55gr Hornady V-max at 4100 rather easily. I have also been able to use the 55gr Bergers. There are not very many bullets to choose from as many will explode upon leaving the barrel. Rather interesting to see a bullet come apart
smile.gif
My barrel is 28" with 1-12 twist. As for barrel life- I only shoot 3 rounds at a time. It is amazing how fast and how hot it will get. Keeping any barel cool extends its life.