• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

.270 win.LR Question?

BOBOSS

Private
Minuteman
Apr 22, 2010
Mont Vernon NH
I am very new on the Hide so go easy on me. I have noticed there is little or no "activity" regarding .270 win. as a long range round. Is there a reason for this? I am currently trying to decide on a caliber to focus on and have picked the .270 as a viable solution. Obviously the .308 is the most popular for obvious reasons, but ballistics show the .270 to be comparable and actually better at less than 800 yds. Is it mostly because .308 mods, rifles etc. are more available or something else? Remember, be kind, I am very new at this.

Re: .270 win.LR Question?

The reason is that the .270 uses a bastard bullet diameter in between .264 and .284. Great LR bullets abound for those two diameters, not the case with .277 (.270).

The 270 is a fantastic cartridge. You see little about it here because most of the guys here like military style rifles and cartridges. If you go to a hunting forum the 270 is talked about alot. So it really is the company you keep. The above poster is also right about bullet selection. There is a better selection of bullets in calibers that are pretty close to the .270. But the .270 is definitely not a "bastard bullet". There are probably more bullets made(by numbers) in .277 caliber than either the .264 or .284, but those calibers do have a fantastic ballistic coefficient for bullets that travel in the 2,900 to 3,200 fps range.