• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Any gunsmiths left?

tangodown

Private
Minuteman
Apr 8, 2013
NW Arkansas
www.facebook.com
I have been gunsmithing for around 10 years now, It's a side business, just something I enjoy and it makes my hobby a little cheaper. I own a little shop, I do lots of Cerakote and some general repairs, I do custom builds but on pistols and AR's not long rifles as of now. Anyway, a guy called me a few weeks ago. His 300 Weatherby mag discharged when he took the safety off to unload the rifle (ouch). Its a MK V with the bolt lock so has to come off of safety to unload. Apparently this guy called every "gunsmith" within 100 miles and no one would even look at it for him. He brought it over, replicated the firing, pulled it apart, turns out the previous owner had jacked with the trigger and it was just a sear engagement issue. Got it fixed and him out the door in 20 minutes. Has our industry just gone to custom builds and parts swapping?

Well...
Those smiths may have declined for the same reasons I would.
1) General lack of familiarity with the MK V, FCS.
2) I will not fuck with sear geometry/trigger jobs, with rare exceptions. Light stoning, cratex to smooth it out- sure.
But it is just not worth the potential liability to me for the few bucks involved. In this case, it having been boogered up by someone that decided to learn on the customer's firearm- I would have only offered replacement rather than attempting to fix someone else's fuck-up.

That said, another smith up the road I know loves to do nothing more than trigger jobs on handguns. He has tons of experience with it- kind of his specialty- so he's comfortable with FCS mods.

Hi,