• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel speeding up, carbon rings, chasing lands, 6 Creedmoor

JRodMT

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Feb 21, 2018
Huntley, MT
About the time I think I‘ve got shooting/reloading figured out, I come across something else that make me scratch my head.

I occasionally shoot competitively and reload for multiple rifles. My rifles generally shoot 1/2 minute groups and I don’t normally spend much time doing load development to get there. On average I shoot 2-3000 rounds per year. All I’m saying is I’m not a complete newbie but I feel like one.

The rifle is a 6mm Creedmoor. I’m on my 2nd barrel and it’s throated for 115 DTACS. I‘ve been shooting H4831sc through 28” Proof Stainless barrel. My theory is that with H4831sc and a long barrel that I can squeeze more barrel life out. I’m jumping .020” and I clean after every match with nylon brushes etc. It shoots 1/2 minute at 3035fps with 42.8gr of powder. Anyways...

Recently my groups have grown to 1 moa and I’m getting an ES of 25-30. I’ve never had a problem getting my ESs down on anything else so I know my prep and loading skills aren’t lacking. I‘ve got 1000rds on the barrel and it seems like it just keeps getting progressively faster, not slower. Tonight, I scrubbed and scrubbed the barrel with a brass brush this time thinking a possible carbon ring was to blame or hard carbon that just wasn’t cleaning out. I use Montana Extreme Copper Remover until patches come out clean. I remeasured the throat over and over by pulling the firing pin and seating the bullet until the bolt drops. I’ve also used the Stoney point gauge and getting similar measurements. It’s showing only .010” of throat wear which just doesn’t seem right.