• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Buy or Build a sturdy workbench/reloading bench?

hkfan45

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 25, 2013
I just moved into a new home with a large, 3 car garage. I need a workbench that can be dual purpose - a general bench for random house projects, and second, a sturdy bench that I can mount 2 or more reloading presses, with enough room for other reloading odds and ends. Previously, I used a press mounted to a piece of 2x6 mounted in a Jawhorse. What are my options for such a table? Note that I am an extreme beginner when it comes to wood working, having never really built anything involving wood. However, I have access to a number of tools - circular saw and miter saw. I do not have access to a table saw. What would your recommendation be? Buy something pre-made, or build something that someone with my experience and tools can handle? Ideally i'd also like a backboard where I can hang tools like hammers, etc to get them out of the way.

Build it. I am by no means a craftsman but I took some left over wood from my deck build and put together a sturdy bench with 4x4s and 2x6s and it does what I need for loading. I lag bolted it to the wall also and it doesn't move.

I bought a set of the Sam's Club benches and tool box. They were a lot cheaper when I bought. I use the bench for my press and loading. I use the long cabinet for storing my loading supplies and the tool box sits under the loading bench and can be pulled out if needed. Adjustable feet made it simple and easy to level the loading bench. I keep it in a "L" shape and can move the table/cabinet in parallel with the loading bench for more room in needed. It's in the third car bay of my garage and rarely needs to be moved.

Workbench:

0040635885969_A.jpeg