• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Cerakote mix ratio change???

Jeremybj

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2011
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Greetings,

I purchased a quart of H series graphite black which was delivered last week. I have been spraying cerakote for about 5 years now and I have figured my preferred shine ratio is 28:1 by weight. Its a satin/matte finish in the end.

Anyways I fired up the cerakote oven yesterday and was going to paint an AR and a bolt gun. Sprayed both, everything went good, threw them in the oven and waited.

2 hours later I turn off the oven, let them cool, and pull them out. HOLY FUCKING SHINY. The parts would look at home on a freshly painted Corvette. Basically they look terrible. So I reprepped and tried repainting one of the barrels did everything the exact same but used some hardener that I had on hand rather than the stuff that came with the quart of graphite black as I was trying to eliminate variables.

Same story Shiny as hell.

Has Cerakote changed the mix ratio recommendations lately or does anybody have any other ideas?

It was about 42 degrees yesterday, which is slightly cool but I sprayed FDE the other day in the upper 30s, which went fine.

Thanks for your help,
Jeremy

I’ve always ran a 20:1-22:1 ratio. This last black that I shot was a little on the shiny side. I checked it after 15mins and had to pull the action out. I added some more color to the mix and sprayed it again. Not sure what the ratio ended up being but I definitely had to change it up. It seems like anymore I have to do a quick flash in the oven to double check the sheen before finalizing the paint job.