• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Guilt over buying a rifle with an H-S precision?

Narwhal

Private
Minuteman
Feb 4, 2010
Austin, TX
I apologize if this is an inappropriate topic, but just wanted some opinions.

I'm considering a Remington 700p but am hesitant because it has an HS precision stock. I'm new to precision shooting but I recently read that there was some controversy over their advertisement in which they flaunted the endorsement of Lon Horuichi (controversial FBI agent who allegedly targeted innocents in the ruby ridge incident).

I've also read that they treat their workers poorly and generally have some culture problems at the company.

I don't mean to slander HS in any way. I'm just an unbiased consumer looking to buy a good stock, but obviously would feel guilty if all these accusations were true. Can anyone shed some light on the subject for me, is it OK to buy from HS or should the conscience guide me elsewhere. If so, what is a comparably priced stock to slide an SPS-Varmit into?

Re: Guilt over buying a rifle with an H-S precision?

I will get the popcorn this is gonna' be fun
cool.gif

Two of my rifles have HS Precision stocks and have served me well. I wouldn't get caught up in the rumor/gossip world of the shooting industry. Just my thoughts.

As for stock options, the standard reply will probably start with "how much money do you have
smile.gif
...?"