• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

predatorhuntsnw

Private
Minuteman
May 24, 2021
Tacoma
I am fairly new to reloading (been at it about a year). I am currently working on developing a load for my .223 AR most specifically for Varmint hunting.
I currently use the 55gr Hornady Vmax factory loads. Due to supply issues and prices, i have started reloading using the 55 grain Vmax Bullets and found H335 to be the best powder for my gun.

I recently picked up a box of Sierra 55gr Blitzkings to try and see if it was similar performance etc. When i looked up the load data for this bullet i was very confused.
See my findings below.

HORNADY LOAD DATA - 55gr Vmax - .223 REM
H335
  • Minimum charge weight: 20.8 grains
  • Maximum Charge Weight: 23.2 grains
    • In my testing the best charge weight using this combo was 22.7 Gr. - no signs of pressure even at Max Charge
SIERRA LOAD DATA - 55gr BLITZKING - .223 REM *(AR-15)*
H335
  • Minimum Charge Weight: 23.6
  • Maximum Charge Weight: 25.7

The Sierra load data is stating that their minimum charge weight is MORE than the Maximum Hornady charge weight.

My questions are this:
  1. Are two 55 grain bullets that drastically different that one could load 2.5 grains more powder behind a Sierra Bullet as opposed to a Hornady?
  2. If I load a minimum charge weight using Sierra's numbers, I am OVER the MAX charge on Hornady's data - does this seem right?

It depends on several variables.

A. Type of test gun
B. Proximity to lands
C. Case brand/volume difference
D. Primer
E. Bullet, powder, primer lot to lot variance

For example, if Sierra used an AR and Hornady a test barrel with a minimum chamber, that right there would account for the difference.

Reactions: predatorhuntsnw