• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Looking for R700

Moo_x3

Private
Minuteman
Feb 23, 2010
Ohio
Hey guys,
I hate just jumping in and asking questions, but I was directed here from another forum I take part in for my AR15.

For background I have some pretty decent experience.
I've had my RRA AR for about 3 years.
In between that I have a 10/22 (sub MOA shooter, which is better than me most days:) )
I recently restored a .22 MAG that my grandfather passed down.

I've been reading up on R700's.
I know I want one but don't know what platform to start with.
I live in Ohio and our big gun show it coming up this weekend.

My use for the rifle won't be hunting, mostly just 100+yd shooting.
I've set my sights on the Model 700™ SPS™ Varmint. in .223
But I love to tinker, I mean that's why we're here right?

So I would like to have a platform that is easily upgradable, but not tooo expensive upfront. ($700 or less to start)

And by upgrade I see a lot of people do trigger work, different barrels, of course stocks.
is this a good starter? Should I look at a different model?

I appreciate your help in advance.
This should help my research quite a bit.
-thanks

Re: Looking for R700

also I should have noted.
I am to understand that there is a version with an internal mag.
Which is the one I'm referring to, and a "DM" model with detachable mag.
Does this make a difference.
Honestly. I can't see why you would want an internal mag.
is there something to this?

you would best be served .....by sitting on your hands for a spell, and figure on what EXACTLY it is you want, and consider the real implications on what it takes to go past 100yd....