• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Montana Rifle Co for a LR build?

kala_azar

Minuteman
Mar 8, 2012
Northern Virginia
I'm a big fan of M70 style CRF actions, and my Winchesters and SPRs have been serving me well.

Does anyone have experience with MRCs 1999 action? I know they are well regarded for hunting rifles and big bore guns, but I'm wondering if they would make a good base for a LR build, sort of in the GAP Extreme Hunter vein... I wonder how true they come from the factory?

Any input from prior users?

Yes they are GTG. I'm a machinist and used to be a smith. They are as true as anything else you'll find. Naysayers will say the design is not rigid enough for accuracy, but those naysayers are Internet commandos who havent built a rifle. They say the same about my 98 Mauser precision build and it shoots far better than I can.

BTW, a year or so ago, before freedom group bought them, they made some barrels on par with the best of the best.

I've got one in stainless steel, chambered in .300 WSM. It holds one moa accuracy at 300 yds. with my handloads. I talked with the rep from Montana Rifle company and can't say enough about how ggod a product they push out. They make their rifles like a custom but are efficient enough to keep prices reasonable. Pick your caliber, and it's almost like getting a custom rifle for 1/2 to 1/4 of the price.