• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Neck turning question

Whitshot

Private
Minuteman
Aug 27, 2017
I'm brand new to neck turning, and was hoping someone could sort conflicting reaserch for me. I'm using Hornady and Starline 6.5 Creedmoor. My setup is a PMC Tool cutter. My questions are

1. What is minimum neck tension? I've heard .002.
Is .0015 enough or better?
Is .0025 to tight?
I'm using these for target shooting and they are not getting knocked around or carried loose.

2. What neck thickness is ok? I'm at .010 right now but that leaves a slight patch of the neck untouched by the cutter. Should I cut another .001-.003 more? or is keeping some "meat" or thickness in the necks more important for case life?

Thanks guys

1. What is minimum neck tension? I've heard .002.
Is .0015 enough or better?
Is .0025 to tight?
I'm using these for target shooting and they are not getting knocked around or carried loose.
This depends on where your particular rifle and brass combos shoots best. We cant tell you what yours does best, only you can test that. Some people use .004" of interference fit, some people use .0005 and do whats called soft seating.

2. What neck thickness is ok? I'm at .010 right now but that leaves a slight patch of the neck untouched by the cutter. Should I cut another .001-.003 more? or is keeping some "meat" or thickness in the necks more important for case life?