• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Need a scope for my new Remington 700 5R...thinking SWFA SS 3-15x42?

MS204

Private
Minuteman
Apr 11, 2013
CA
Hi guys,

1st post here. I'm a complete newbie to long range shooting, and I have not had much time behind a rifle at that. However after shooting a buddy's SPS Tactical I knew I would really like this sport. I found myself an amazing deal on a brand new Remington 5R in 308 and now need to wait 10 days before picking it up (California, sigh.)

My question is, would the soon-to-be-released SWFA SS 3-15x42 be a good scope choice for this rifle? My budget is $1k, but I still need to pick up a scope mount and rings so I need to factor that in as well. I know there aren't any reviews out for it yet but from what I can tell, it seems to be in direct competition with the Vortex PST 4-16 FFP and Weaver 3-15 Tactical. It's not a HD model but folks seem to think really highly of SWFA glass. The reticle seems pretty decent. I think I like the G2DMR from Bushnell better but that's out of my immediate budget. I plan to learn as I go and shoot at 100-300 yard ranges. The longest range within reasonable distance for me is a 600 yard range in the mountains, but I won't be able to go there often, perhaps once every few months.

I want a scope I can use to learn how to shoot, learn mil measuring, and assist with working up accurate handloads. The new SS sounds like it would fit my needs but is there anything else I should consider or look at?

I was thinking of going with Seekins for both the scope mount and rings unless you guys could suggest something better?

Thoughts would be appreciated.