• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Scope for Mammoth Sniper Challenge Secondary Rifle (.223)

bonesaw00001

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Sep 15, 2019
Hi Y'all,

I'm new to precision rifles but fairly proficient with pistol/carbine shooting. I'm hoping to tackle the Mammoth Sniper Challenge in 2021 with a buddy with similar experience. To that end, I'm looking to pick up a new scope for my AR chambered in .223 as the secondary rifle for our team. As such, what would most folks recommend?

For the suggested details:
  • What is the platform for the scope? Semi-Auto, Rifle, AR
  • What cartridge are you shooting? .223; may eventually swap this onto another rifle up to a .308
  • What is your intended use for the scope? PRS competition with rucking
  • What type of conditions will you typically shoot in? Daylight/lowlight
  • What are the typical distances you intend to shoot? Up to 600 yards (as I understand the competition)
  • Are there any specific specifications you would like? Mil-dots, decently light and durable
  • What is the price range you can afford? <$1000, preferably <$500

Thank you!

I really like the Vortex PST G2, the 3-15x44 would do well for your intended use.

Attachments

• 20190930_215222.jpg
    20190930_215222.jpg
    245 KB · Views: 57

In your price range and best buy in optics right now hands down. I have one of these and my hunting buddy has several too. They are reliable and made by LOW in Japan. It is a reliable and simple optic. Much fewer reported problems than a PST gen 2 scopes have had. Good reticle. Especially for an AR platform. They are a steal at current prices. Illuminated version is also available and $50 rebate is available too.