• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

SK Standard+ & Rifle Match Drop Variance?

Precision Catharsis

Private
Minuteman
May 28, 2021
USA
Disclaimers/info:
  1. I'm new to precision shooting
  2. I have a CZ 457 Pro Varmint w/ an Athlon Optics Argos BTR Gen2 6-24X50
  3. I've been ammo testing (5 shot groups) off a sled at a range w/ solid benches and tall earthen wind barriers (I still only test when there's barely any wind)
  4. I use the Range Buddy app to measure my groups
The other day I was trying some SK ammo at 50 & 100yds. As I understand it, SK Standard + and SK Rifle Match are basically the same ammo but I should essentially expect tighter SD/performance from runs they labeled Rifle Match. On SK's site, all the ballistic data for both types are spot on the same. Hence, while I assumed the Match would likely get tighter groups (unless I really lucked out on the S+ lot), I also assumed the avg POI and drop and such would remain the same between the two types, or at least be extremely close and only exhibit the same type of minimal changes you might notice from lot to lot.

After shooting four 5-shot groups of each at 50 yards and the same at 100 yards, I noticed the following:
  • On average, the Rifle Match groups' POI was only 0.1" higher than Standard+'s at 50 yds, but a full 1.1" higher than Standard+'s at 100yds. (And it wasn't just the POI's average either, as the POI difference between ammo types was fairly consistent each time. At 100 yds, there was only about a 0.1" POI variation between each group of the same ammo type.)