Terrapin issues

nexusfire

Secks fi millimeet
Full Member
Minuteman
Sep 9, 2010
1,882
425
50
Mesa, AZ
I went use mine today and when I ranged an object I got four dashed lines. Tried several near and far with the same result. Manual says that this means the object is out of range. I know that the object was less than 300 yards.

Anyone else run into this?
 

KYpatriot

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Mar 31, 2009
702
65
48
wishing i was in KY
Isn't there a way to set some range brackets so that it will ignore targets outside the set parameters? Maybe that got turned on somehow. I don't have the manual handy but tha is something you can check, and of course as Vinson suggest new batteries to start.
 

nexusfire

Secks fi millimeet
Full Member
Minuteman
Sep 9, 2010
1,882
425
50
Mesa, AZ
Isn't there a way to set some range brackets so that it will ignore targets outside the set parameters? Maybe that got turned on somehow. I don't have the manual handy but tha is something you can check, and of course as Vinson suggest new batteries to start.
I did new batteries and reset the gate function to off so all ranges are displayed.
 

trevor300wsm

Team Pantydropper
Full Member
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2009
2,479
179
42
Oklahoma
I have not heard of too many people having issues with the Terrapins, but the one guy that I know who did have an issue, had a very poor experience dealing with Vectronix customer service. I hope you all are able to find a simple solution for this. I've never had a issue with mine and I hope I never do.
 

Ranger822

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 4, 2013
167
0
Colorado
How does your Terrapin do with longer range targets? I can't recall ever having this issue with mine, it is very accurate with nearly everything I point it at, as long as I follow the user's manual
 

nexusfire

Secks fi millimeet
Full Member
Minuteman
Sep 9, 2010
1,882
425
50
Mesa, AZ
It worked flawless for a year. Took it out to kill p dogs and started acting up.
 

PRDRIVER

Gunny Sergeant
Commercial Supporter
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 18, 2005
1,391
55
SLC, UT
Try a new set of batteries. If that doesn't work, PM me and I will send you the Vectronix Warranty Repair Contact Information.
 

KYpatriot

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Mar 31, 2009
702
65
48
wishing i was in KY
How about just posting the warranty contact info if you have it. That way a search here would bring it up and help people in the future. It doesn't need to be secret.
 

nexusfire

Secks fi millimeet
Full Member
Minuteman
Sep 9, 2010
1,882
425
50
Mesa, AZ
Ok tried another set of batteries from a different batch of sure fires and the unit seems to be functional now. I am wondering why the low battery indicator or voltage test didn't tell me anything.
 

john133

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 15, 2012
7
0
40
Glad to hear you got it sorted and posted a follow-up.

In regards to majority of electronic devices, begin and verify the condition of the battery and terminals. DVOMs are great tools to have on hand.

If you have technical issues beyond the user accessibility testing (batt, terminals and basic function tests) with the Vectronix units, you may wish to contact Corey Zimmerman. His email is as follows: [email protected]
 

john133

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 15, 2012
7
0
40
It looks like links and emails addresses require approval before replies are posted. Email contact posted above if you have further issues with your unit. Good luck.
 

Nate O.

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Apr 2, 2011
625
163
44
South Dakota
Ok tried another set of batteries from a different batch of sure fires and the unit seems to be functional now. I am wondering why the low battery indicator or voltage test didn't tell me anything.
Maybe pulling the batteries reset whatever its problem was.