• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tried 1985 yds today.

Bigwheels

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Jun 16, 2007
    Anacortes WA
    Well I gave it a few shots @ 1985 yds today. Had a great day to shoot. Almost no wind slightly cloudy, temps in the low to mid 50's. But my spotter couldn't see the trace.(complete newbie) So I fired 10 rnds coaching him , trying to get him to see the trace, but no joy. I did realise later that I didn't take into account the Coriolis. Couldn't see where any of the rounds hit due to the soft soil,@ the target.
    300 WM 26" 1:10 tw.
    208 A-Max @ 2968 fps.
    I know they were going subsonic @ that range, but If Montana Marine could get them to 1800+ with a 308, I figured I could get them that far, & still hit point first. Now I'm looking for a way to see the impacts, or someone that can see trace for me in my AO. It was a good none the less.

Re: Tried 1985 yds today.

Sounds like fun.

I've had the 30-06 out to 1930 yards.

I was launchimng 208s at 2700 fps. Ground was rather dry and dust signatures were very visible. TOF was around 3.5 seconds. I was kinda shooting into the afternoon sun, and that helped illuminate the dust clouds.

I was shooting at a small juniper on a slope waaaay past my lased 1050 yard steel target. when I got back to the steel, I lased the juniper and it was 880 yards beyond the steel, so I figured about 1930 yards, give or take. Hits at the base of the juniper were fairly consistent. Wind was light, probably 0-3 mph, half value.

Well that gives hope for my planned one mile shooting with a 300 Weatherby at 208 grain Amaxes.