• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Variances in shoulder set back..

GreenBlood10

Lead Farmer
Minuteman
Nov 27, 2012
Spring Grove, Pa
I am brand new to reloading and just started prepping some brass. My set up is a Forster Co-Ax press and Redding Type-S full length sizing die with a .289 bushing installed. I am using once fired 6.5cm Prime brass. For case lube I am using imperial sizing die wax.

Before I started, I used a Hornady headspace gauge to measure from the base of a few cases to their datum line. The measurement I took, on several cases, was 1.581". Since these reloads are for a GAP-10, I aimed for a .003" shoulder set back. Once I was able to reproduce a measurement of 1.578", I locked the die down with the Forster lock ring.

I continued to measure each case after I ran them through the sizing die and noticed some variances from case to case. The cases I measured after going through the die ranged anywhere from 1.5765" to 1.578".

I made sure I was applying a thin coat of wax to just the case body and not the shoulder or neck. I believe I am being consistent on my strokes with the press. Is this normal or acceptable?

Try some more lube and put a thin coat over the whole case. I have done extensive playing around with shoulder bump and to get consistent bump, you need to have the correct amount of lube on the cases. If a case doesn't get quite enough lube, it will not bump back properly. I always lube the entire case.

I just had it happen yesterday when I was testing out a new RCBS Precision Mic. Had a case not show the correct amount of bump, I then added a touch more lube and ran it through again and it bumped properly.