• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Why does 4DOF want altitude?

Antares

Minuteman
Nov 16, 2020
Alaska
Forgive me if this is a dumb question. I'm pretty new to ballistic solvers. In the past, all I ever did was take data of the box of ammo, dump it into JBM, and make trajectory cards to tape to the stocks of my hunting rifles. Now I'm fooling around with 4DOF and truing it to my actual DOPE.

Anyways, why does 4DOF want station pressure and altitude? I thought solvers just used altitude to translate baro pressure into station pressure. If you're already feeding 4DOF station pressure, what's it doing with the altitude data?

Last edited:
Does this help? From Hornady: NOTE: It is necessary with the Hornady 4DOF® Ballistic Calculator to specify the altitude and atmospheric conditions (either known from a pressure at altitude table or attained from a Kestrel™ or similar device) at the firing location in order for the calculator to accurately predict trajectories. Rather than assuming a fixed atmospheric condition, the calculator calculates an altitude-based atmosphere dependent on the input conditions and allows for the atmosphere to change in air density as the projectile climbs or descends along its line of flight.

Yeah, that does help (I think).

I read that as, the software is correcting for changes in atmospheric pressure along the flight path, which becomes more influential the longer and higher angle the shot. Since the relationship between atmospheric pressure and altitude in nonlinear, the software wants to know the altitude of your muzzle so it can accurately place you on the pressure/altitude curve.

Something like that?

Recommend you contact Hornady and ask them since it is their application and code.
Phone: 1-800-338-3220 or