will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

The_AKD

Private
Minuteman
Jul 29, 2010
47
0
37
If I install a muzzle break on my rifle will i need to alter my load ?

Im asing in general but my rifle is a 700 5R millspec


thx.
 

Parkincense

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 6, 2009
324
1
40
Selma, Texas
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

No shouldnt need to change your load but you may need to adjust your zero as the addition may change your POI.
 

ryanjay11

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Apr 6, 2010
394
0
39
Missouri
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

It might make it to where you are more comfortable with running a hotter load due to less recoil, but I doubt it will make any noticeable difference.
 

GRIM

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Dec 21, 2009
454
1
56
Wisconsin
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

I have a DPMS LR-308. Before I had a brake installed it liked Fed GMM 168 ammo. After GAP installed a JP/Cooley brake it likes Fed GMM 175 ammo better. Fine with me though as I'd prefer to be shooting the 175 SMK anyway.
 

Greg Langelius *

Resident Elder Fart
Full Member
Minuteman
Aug 10, 2001
9,041
5,268
AZ
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

Adding mass to the muzzle changes the barrel's polar moment of intertia.

(Nongeekspeek: You changed the barrel harmonics. Do a load workup to see what it does to the barrel's load preferences)

Henceforward, if I use the acronym NGS, I mean nongeekspeek.

Greg
 

The_AKD

Private
Minuteman
Jul 29, 2010
47
0
37
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

good point, i was not thinking of barrel harmonics. Makes total seance. Are your groups as tight still with a break as they were with no break ?
 

wmr264

Private
Minuteman
Mar 9, 2010
45
0
42
eastern. OR
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

I have a brake on my 5r I got from RWS here on the hide and it works great and it is shooting some tight groups
 

vman

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Nov 23, 2009
3,719
3
38
Australia
www.google.com
Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

You will probably need minor load tweaking after you install the brake
 

samnev

First Sargeant
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Mar 16, 2010
    3,936
    101
    Surprise, AZ
    Re: will a muzzle break make me change my load ?

    When I added the TRG brake to my TRG 22 it didn't change anything.