• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Gunsmithing .308 Reamer Question

cwood3

Private
Minuteman
Feb 11, 2010
Spring, TX
I'm new to doing my own barrel work, but not new to benchrest rifles, shooting, and building. I have always had my barrel work done by others based on my wants and their recommendations. For this scenario, I am putting together a .308 using a Schneider barrel. I want to choose a reamer that will allow this gun to be able to utilize factory or "match" ammo so that when the time comes that will require a stockpile, this rifle will still be able to handle it. However, I am an avid reloader and want to experiment with different loads, as I feel that every individual rifle has it's own preferred "dessert". That being said, I usually buy my reamers from Dave Kiff (PTG)....go look at his web page and notice how many flavors of .308 chambering reamers with floating heads he has. Anybody want to chime in on this? I have barrel stubs to "practice" on, so that I don't wreck my Schneider.

Thanks.....curtis

Re: .308 Reamer Question

Id say Dave Kiff will be pointing you in the direction of the SAAMI spec reamer given your need for versatility.

Respectfully:

This deviates from the original thread a bit, but it's related.

Carbide tooling is great stuff. I spend a great deal of money buying it for my CNC machinery.

That being said almost all of my chucking reamers (for general machine shop stuff) and chamber reamers for guns are made from HSS.