• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Hunting & Fishing 45-70 Cast Hunting Source

Bluesop7

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 4, 2011
West Texas
I've been trying to find this information for days now and still no luck. I don't and won't be casting my own any time soon so I'm stuck with what I can buy. I'm new to the 45-70 and would very much like to take it white tail hunting with me in November. I already have a jacketed bullet picked out but would also like a cast bullet (or boolit if you prefer) that will be a good deer stopper (read: quick kill, minimal meat damage) that I can take as well just to be a little more traditional.

Would a hard cast 405gr work well? Or would a softer alloy work better? Any clear concise info regarding hardness/weight/maufacturer combination or better yet suggestions/links to specific bullets would be much appreciated.

Re: 45-70 Cast Hunting Source

The 405 hard cast is going to be a decent load and the hard cast bullet won't expand a whole lot, but it will mushroom up and they penetrate EXTREMELY well.

Do you reload? A 405gr hard cast at 1500-1700fps will make for a "Thor's Hammer" kind of load on game.

My main bullet for my 45-70's is a 405 grain cast bullet. However I cast my own.

I do not particularly care for a hard cast bullet for deer. IMO WW alloy is more than hard enough for a great bullet. and I get mushrooming out to about 80 or 90 caliber, so that is pretty tough to beat. It does not do a tremendous amount of meat damage. But at 1600 fps or so it will hit them like a slegde hammer.