• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Talk Advice for New PRS Match Director

sczShooter19

Private
Minuteman
Aug 28, 2020
Hey guys. So at my range the guy that used to run the PRS Matches is leaving for bootcamp in September and he has appointed me to be the new match director.

I’m new to long range shooting and very new to PRS matches. I helped out yesterday at one PRS match that the range hosted and it got a good understanding of how they are run. The matches we run aren’t super competitive and are pretty low key, but the range is getting bigger and more involved and we are planning some bigger very competitive matches.

I’d just like some advice from y’all that have experience with PRS matches. Like how you set them up, safety concerns, responsibilities of a PRS director. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Safety, safety and more safety. See Rifles Only rules on safety for a good example.

Match flow. If you can keep your match moving at a good pace. You're already ahead of the curve.

Don't get lazy on stage design. Shooting 3 or 4+ prone/modified prone stages gets boring in a hurry.

Do not cater to the top 10% of your shooters. The bottom 90% are who pays the bills and who will spread the word. If you keep the bottom 90% coming back on regular basis, hardly anyone will notice if some of the top shooters stop coming.

Run a great match and no one will care or even notice if you don't have a prize table. They can cause some drama.

Safety, safety and more safety. See Rifles Only rules on safety for a good example.

Match flow. If you can keep your match moving at a good pace. You're already ahead of the curve.

Don't get lazy on stage design. Shooting 3 or 4+ prone/modified prone stages gets boring in a hurry.