• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Am I on track?

Wilsun

Private
Minuteman
Jan 2, 2010
Lincoln, Nebraska
The gun club I belong to has a weekly 300 yard shoot. I would like to try it out.

Not too long ago, I bought a Remington 700P (1 in 12 twist) along with an SS 10X??HD scope. I have shot around 300 rounds of Ultramax ammo through it just to get comfortable.

The furthest I shot at was around 230 yards (first time in my life shooting over 150 yards) and I was able to get 3 shots within a 4 inch group (don't laugh...I'm new to this!).

I have a single press Lee reloader that I used for .30-06 for my Garand, but damn, does it seem to take forever to load rounds. (I'm interested in loading more to control variables than to reduce costs)

On Saturday, I dropped $535.99 at the local shooting goods store...here is what I bought:

1) A Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press: I thought the turret press could speed up my reloading? Is that right?

2) 200 unprimed Remington .308 cases

3) 5 lbs of RL-15 powder

4) 200 155 grain Hornady A-Max bullets

5) A Redding .308 reloading die set (2 dies...I did not buy the "deluxe" set that comes with a Neck Sizing die)

My question: I have NOT opened any of the above and could return it to the sporting goods store (I have the receipt).

Am I on track to get started in 300 yard shooting? Should I have bought "match grade" ammo? Lapua Scenars are supposed to be good but the store didn't have any so I just bought the A-Max.

Please let me know your thoughts. Also, if I have NOT asked some questions that I should have, then feel free to provide some unsolicited advice. It is ALL much appreciated!

Thank you.