• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Anyone out there with Cochlear Implants?

tna9001

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 4, 2017
Asheville NC
Hey guys,

I've been wearing hearing aids for 8 years (I'm 51) and my hearing is to the point where they aren't much help. I've got a great Audiologist and ENT and they both think CI's could be helpful.

I'm not asking for medical advice just real-world experience of folks with a similar lifestyle. I'm mostly concerned with losing my acoustic hearing, the hybrid CI's are supposed to retain acoustic hearing but everything I've found via google says the results are mixed. So, what's it like living with CI's? Would you do it again?

1569328896012.png

two children up the street where I grew up both went deaf by age 8 and had their hearing restored...

I don't have any personal experience.

Have you tried the 6K hearing aids that work specifically with the I phone? A friend got those and they changed his life.

He forwards his work phone to his I phone and does all his work calls via the apple bluetooth link to the hearing aids.

He said they have to be tuned to your ears and your hearing and are amazing

Yeah, I’ve tried everything. I’ve got the $6k set but you reach a point where acoustic amplification doesn’t work.

Reactions: gunman_7
remember my fathers father stomping on his hearing aid when my dad asked why he did that for his reply that he had not heard his kids in 40 years and would be dammed if he wanted to change that before he died . Guess for some there is a bright side to every situation .

• Haha
Reactions: Maggot