• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

ballistic computer newbie here, IPOD touch?

matt33

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2009
Bradford/Susquehanna Co, PA
I've been shooting for a while now, but I've never invested in a small, hand-held ballistic computer. I have a "dumb" cell phone and refuse to buy an I-phone or other smart phone due to the required data plan. I have no virtually no cell service where I live and there are two phones on my plan, so I feel like I'd be throwing $60/month away just to have an I-phone.

I've been meaning to buy an I-pod for my Jeep for a while and I'm wondering if ballistic applications designed for the I-phone will also work for the I-pod touch? If so, can anyone recommend a good affordable ballistic app?

I apologize in advance if these questions seem elementary, but living out here in the sticks sometimes keeps me behind the times technologically.

Re: ballistic computer newbie here, IPOD touch?

Yes,all ballistic programs work on ipod touch.
Some of the fancy programs give altitude,and pressure readings via iphone.
But you can manually enter these.

i agree ballistic FTE is a good program, i used to run bulletflight, IMHO FTE is better, user friendly as well, look into an otterbox for your itouch, it may save your A$$ if you plan on using it in the field quite often!!!