• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

CZ 550 American in .308

levellinebrad

Private
Minuteman
Jul 23, 2014
I am brand new to shooting anything with a scope but am a pretty happy camper today.

About a week ago, I found a used CZ 550 for sale on a local forum for a decent price and snatched it up. I started looking at scope reviews, which is how I found this forum, and ended up ordering a vortex hs t from a forum member here. It came today and I was able to mount it, bore sight it, and get off 3 shots at 100 yards before 6pm. ( I got home at 5:30 ) I have some fairly close neighbors, about 40 yds to the left of my bench and they eat around 6pm so I try to quit before then. Anyway, I am extremely happy after 3 rounds. I won't post any pics because I made one elevation change so I ended up shooting a 4" group with my 3 shots and I know for a fact that I pulled a little to the right with my last shot. add to the fact that I was rushing like crazy and may not have set my scope up 100% correctly, I am grinning from ear to ear. I realize that most of you here may scoff at my giddiness over a 4" group, well scoff away, my grin will not be diminished :D.

I would like to stretch it out to 500 yards next weekend when I go up to my dad's place. Any advice for a newb is always appreciated. Any books that I should read? I haven't shot 500yds in a long damn time. About 25 years I suppose so I am looking forward to it.