• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Eclipse

I have and it's not worth looking up. Yay, it got kinda dark for a few minutes.... Who cares?

I guess I fail to get all hot and sweaty about celestial events that are happening constantly and we have zero control over.
Yeah, to each his own... I'm a nerd and an amateur astronomer, so I get pretty excited about a total eclipse. I've seen a ton of partial ones, but only one total eclipse. The partial ones don't do it for me other than curiosity. The total one blew me away.

The only thing that would make it worthwhile for me to attempt to look at it would be if there was a pretty decent corona. Most of the time, you don't get one unless you're right on it and are able to capture it as it's happening. If I were certain there would be one, I'd set up a digital camera to record it and then watch the recording, rather than attempt to look directly and damage my eyes.

It's going to happen right over our heads here is SW Arkansas. DOT has stated to expect significant increase in traffic. You can't get to this area without traveling at least 60 miles of 2 lane highways thru the mountains of Arkansas. Roads are already busy, much of it vehicles towing mobile homes. Most local service oriented businesses are closing on Friday thru at least Monday.

We're just gonna sit back and watch the chaos. Having been a firefighter/paramedic, I feel for the first responders, especially having to respond to traffic incidents on these narrow, twisting roads.

Checked out a couple cameras for the trip.
K-r, 1000mm mirror, solar filer, FZ80, UV-IR cut and ND400.
Got a dozen glasses and a couple cell phone filters.
K3II0130B.jpg

K3II0131b.jpg

Supposedly 100k people coming to my small town south of Dallas...