• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Eric cortina seating depth

mitchparker6

Private
Minuteman
Jun 12, 2018
I have been reloading for 5-6 years and have just reloaded for fun and to have good quality hunting bullets. Usually find the lands put the bullet a determined length away from the lands and then shoot powder charges in increments of 3-5 bullets. It's been so long since I have found enough time/components to remember the powder charge increments. Finally I have stocked up on enough components that I want to start up again. Watchd Eric cortinas video on seating depth determining the accuracy node and just going off of that. Curious about your guys thoughts? Sounds easier than doing powder charges? Also if anyone has done this do you just choose a powder charge and go with it? Obviously work up to it looking for pressure signs. Looking to find an accurate load for my 300 prc with this method. Thanks!

I know nothing about Mr. Cortina

I do know that every time someone tells me they have discovered the “one secret” to any activity or challenge they are always wrong. Optimum performance in any skilled endeavor results from getting many small things correct and consistent.

Only the clueless think they have discovered the clue to solve the riddle that the rest of the world has overlooked.

Again, I have no idea what Mr. Cortina has said or done so not slighting him in any way.

I tried it with a new 6x47 barrel, 1000 rds in and haven't had to change anything.
So far so good.

Reactions: simonp